Brass Tacks #3

FlickrBrassTacksMicroassistWhat a difference a week makes.

Last week, I was a complete and utter mess. This week, I’m still a bit of a mess, but I had story ideas popping into my head and was able to actually write!

Eighteen years ago, I cut my 40-hr job as an office manager down to part-time. These last two weeks of working every day (but still part-time) have kicked my a$$. Starting work at 5 a.m. may have something to do with it. I’m a morning person, though, and didn’t think that would bother me much, but my body is compensating by waking me up at 3 a.m. so I have time to write.

Gotta listen to the body, right?

Anyway, in my first draft, the climax and ending were a little lame. I knew it. Had it in the back of my mind as I revised, but couldn’t think of what to do to punch it up a little. Well, I got some ideas this week. Way to go, Muse!

My writing goals last week and what I accomplished:

1. Keep working on scenes 36B and 37. I finished up scene 36B and started scene 37, about 950 words total. I also played around with new scene sentences to reflect changes in the story.

2. Write the next Brass Tacks post. Done

Goals for the coming week:

1. Continue working on scene 37 and rewrite remaining scene sentences and index cards.

2. Write the next Brass Tacks post.

See you next week…

Tell me what you REALLY think.

