Accountability Post #1

MyAccountabilityPoster

In Which I Prove I Can Get Shit Done

Welcome to my new Monday feature!

In case you’re just tuning in, I’m taking the bull by the horns to get motivated and organized so I can reach my dream to be an indie published author by the end of this year. Each Monday, I’ll post my writing goals for the previous week, what I actually got off my butt and did, and what I plan to do for the next week.

So, here we go, ladies and gents:

My writing goals this week and what I accomplished

1. Continue Haunted Town revision – scenes 13-22.

A little explanation is in order here. I’m following Holly Lisle’s How to Revise Your Novel course. I’ve gone through my first draft once already, in detail, to see what I had and decide where I wanted the story to go. I ended up with what I call my Revision Plan.

I’m now making hand-written changes on a printed copy of my first draft and writing any new scenes I added during the Revision Plan.

I’m happy to report I not only revised scenes 13-22 but went ahead to scene 26!

2. Brainstorm blog post ideas, write one, and create an editorial calendar.

I started on this, thinking of two ideas and began writing one. Then the idea for my last post sprang from my brain full-grown like the goddess Athena, pushing ahead of the others. Because it was a timely issue, I wrote and published that one first. Then, of course, there’s this accountability post.

Two ideas and one partially written post. Two blog posts written and published. No editorial calendar yet.

Goals for the coming week:

1. Continue revising, scenes 27-36B. (In case you’re wondering, after I wrote my numbered scene index cards, I thought of crucial scenes I needed to add, so that’s why I have letters in my numbering system.)

2. Write the next accountability post.

3. Okay, “accountability” sounds boring and requires a new name, pronto.

4. Continue brainstorming blog post ideas and create editorial calendar.

That about covers it, I think.

Hey, let’s make this more interesting. What are your goals for the week?

2 comments on “Accountability Post #1

  1. D J Mills says:

    Hummm! Let me think! Goals?
    Get back into my normal sleep work routine after having the month off to watch the Australian Open Tennis. 🙂
    Oh, and write, format and keep going with publishing existing stories.

    Like

Tell me what you REALLY think.

