First Draft Finished

Excitement (July 2011)

I’m so out-of-my-mind excited to announce I’ve completed the first draft of my new paranormal novel with the working title Haunted Town.

One thing that just blows my mind – what a different writing experience this one has been!

I bit off way more than I could chew with my first novel. It was epic fantasy, with lots of moving parts, and it was loooong. Well, epic, right? The first draft took me over a year to write, while I was taking a writing course. I then revised for the next 4 or 5 years. I wrestled with that thing way longer than I should have, ended up hating it, and just stopped.

Haunted Town is shorter, from only one point of view, and tells a smaller story. See, I learned something! I started planning it in February, started writing in March, and 8 months, 9 days later, the first draft is complete.

Obviously, the first one was my learning novel. With Haunted Town, I already considered myself a writer (psychologically important), had developed decent writing skills (and continually learning more) and a writing habit (that may be the most important thing, actually). The subject matter is lighter, with humor, and I enjoyed writing most of it. Sure there were sloggy days in the middle. Overall, though, this was a much more positive experience.

So, now I’m giving myself some time to play around with a short story idea and a couple other things. Then, it’s on to revision.

Image courtesy of Alexandre Normand via Flickr Creative Commons

 

 

 

 

6 comments on “First Draft Finished

  1. D J Mills says:

    Well done! Happy dance happening here. 🙂
    I am looking forward to reading it after your first revision run through. 🙂

    Like

  2. OMG, how did I miss this post?! Super stoked Haunted Town was a more enjoyable experience for you, and I hope I get to read it 🙂

    Like

  3. Yay!! I hope I get to read it too!

    Like

Tell me what you REALLY think.

