The Uncoiling Spring

Spring is crazy.

We emerge from sluggish winter, blinking at the unaccustomed sun, into a full-blown marathon, trying to keep up.

Flickr_SNappa2006

Then again, maybe that’s just me.

Here’s what’s cookin’ at La Maison Carmel:

Thing 2 is in just about every music group in school, so we’ve attended the musical, Legally Blonde, several concerts and, since she’s in the marching band, we have parade season gearing up, oh, and she’s getting braces tomorrow.

2013-079I

Thing 1 is graduating from high school, so we have Senior Trip to Boston and all the paperwork and payment involved with that, college applications and financial aid forms to fill out, prom, the art show, a graduation party to plan, a driver’s license to obtain, and a job to start.

Flickr_bensonk42

As for me, I dropped one novel and began writing another, started  Holly Lisle’s How to Write a Series course (in which I’ll write short stories in the universe of my new novel), and get my house and yard ready for a grad party.

Yeah, I’m tired just thinking about it.

How is your Spring shaping up?

Images courtesy of Flickr Creative Commons SNappa2006 and bensonk42

5 comments on “The Uncoiling Spring

  1. Oh I know exactly what you’re talking about. I never get a chance to stop and slow down.

    Like

  2. D J Mills says:

    My winter is slowly arriving, still not cold enough yet! I have the fire going all day and night, and have a blanket over my knees while I write this and read other blogs. Love winter. 🙂
    Hope you enjoy your summer as much as I am enjoying winter.
    I am sure the grad party will be a success.

    Like

  3. E.K. Carmel says:

    Thank you both! Sorry I’ve been scarce around here lately. I’m afraid it may stay that way for most of the summer.

    Like

  4. Leah says:

    I, too, could not wait for spring. Then it arrived and I realized my to-do and project lists had doubled – planting, yard clean up, taxi service for the kid, house repairs that never end, etc. But I did admit to being solar-powered, so I take full advantage during spring, summer and fall. Come this winter, I’ll be ready for hibernation, though.

    P.S. Is Charlotte your high school grad this year? If so, please send her my congratulations, and tell her I’m looking forward to her first film 🙂

    Like

    • E.K. Carmel says:

      The list is most definitely never-ending.

      Thank you, I’ll let Charlotte know. As for film making, it’s not exactly on the table right now. But her major is English, so you never know.

      Like

Tell me what you REALLY think.

