Good Riddance Winter, Hello New Project

Whew. Am I glad Winter is over.

Of course, as I’m writing this, we went from sunny and warm the last few days to rain, sleet, and snow today. Yuck! But that’s western N.Y. for you.

Thank You

Thank you to those who sent get well wishes to my family and I. We had about a month and a half of someone (and usually more than one at a time) sick with colds, lingering coughs, and other maladies. Round after round of it. Needless to say, it’s taking me a little while to catch up with things.

Though illness wasn’t the only reason I’m behind…

I started writing a new novel.

What happened to the last one?

Yeah, about that…

I worked on my first novel for about five years, finishing a first draft and two and a half revisions. Some days I liked it. Some days I loathed it. Many times I made excuses not to work on it. I finally tried to figure out what went wrong but just got sick to death of it. I still think there’s good, salvageable parts to it. Someday, I’ll go back to it.

While I was ill, I couldn’t do much but lay in bed. In between reading some great novels, I worked through Holly Lisle’s newest writing course, Create a World Clinic. This clinic teaches how to worldbuild just the right amount for your fictional stories. As usual, Holly is creative, practical, humorous, and always makes me excited to write! I highly, highly recommend her courses. She always goes above and beyond for her students.

Um, where was I? Oh, yeah–

Great Googly Moogly! I came up with three ideas for new novels!

This is new for me. Incubating ideas was always an excruciating process. (For Holly’s students, I always had trouble with Calling Down Lightning.)

Maybe it was my fevered brain, but my Muse grabbed onto one of the ideas. Sunk her teeth in and wouldn’t let go.

Hallelujah!

*cue the parting clouds, double rainbow, and frolicking woodland creatures*

DoubleRainbow

So, within seven weeks, the story (and barebones of a series!!!) was preplanned and I’ve started writing.

What a completely different experience this is from the first novel. I’m still completely shocked by it. I used to feel I was lacking something as a writer because I wasn’t inundated with ideas or thinking about my characters and stories all the time. I just figured I was the queen of compartmentalizing things.

Apparently, I was just creatively constipated.

Or, maybe my writing skills and life are becoming second nature to me now.

Either way, I’m truly grateful.

images from Flickr courtesy of lindsay.dee.bunny and alessandrobl

 

 

 

 

 

5 comments on “Good Riddance Winter, Hello New Project

  1. Leah says:

    Sweet! Have fun, that’s what I say. I think it takes the actual experience to know when to set aside a story that just isn’t flowing anymore. Kudos to you for listening to your Muse.

    P.S. Here in NW Ohio we had 70s and sunny Saturday through Monday, then woke up this morning to 30s and an inch of snow. My daffodils were not pleased. Not one little bit. Crossing fingers and tootsies for my tulips and hyacinths. So glad I didn’t go through and do winter cleanup on those warm days, or else more plants would be freezing their nibs off. For us, it’s not safe to say “It’s spring!” until early May.

    Like

    • E.K. Carmel says:

      Hi Leah! Thanks for the encouragment. I really held out for a long time, not wanting to quit. But, in the end, it was the right thing.

      So sorry about your poor daffodils. I, on the other hand, uncovered three beds and was cringing as the sleet, then snow hit hard. My crocuses that had started blooming are gone, but everything else seems ok. Normally, I don’t get going on the gardening this early, but I have a graduation party this year and want the yard looking nice.

      Like

  2. D J Mills says:

    You are not alone if dropping your first novel. I dumped my first two novels and hope someday to rewrite them with all the new knowledge I gained over the past five years.:-)

    Glad you are now calling down lightning. Once it starts if never stops. I jot down the idea and forget it so I can finish my current projects, knowing I will remember when I look through the ideas file sometime in the future. 🙂

    Glad you weather is getting warmer. I am excited my weather is getting colder. I had the fire going the past two nights, but still too hot to burn wood during the days.

    Like

    • E.K. Carmel says:

      You know, the more I talk to writers, the more I discover everyone seems to have an early novel hidden away somewhere. Nice to know I’m not alone!

      I used to have an idea (paper) file, but for some reason I rarely used it. Now I have an idea notebook and my Muse likes that better. Go figure.

      My favorite time of the year is when it starts getting chilly after a hot summer. Enjoy those lovely fires!

      Like

  3. Glad to see you back. Good luck wiht your new projects.

    Like

Tell me what you REALLY think.

