The Best Laid Plans…

FrugalLivingGraphic

…can go right to hell without warning.

I planned to tell ya’ll about the extra money I paid on our credit cards this week, but life stomped on my sandcastle.

The story starts out with the best of intentions (as these things usually do):

My husband went hunting and shot a deer. Fantastic! It’s relatively free meat and we only have to pay for processing.

I felt very frugal.

We have a chest freezer that we haven’t used in a while that would be perfect to store the meat — and other things, too. I’m makin’ plans! We brought it up from the basement, cleaned her up — and she promptly died. My mechanic husband informed me it would cost more to fix than to buy a new one.

*sigh*

The deer is already at the processor’s. We aren’t sure when it’s going to be ready, but when it is, we need someplace to put it. Now.

I’m sure you’re aware the best time to research and buy a major appliance is NOT when you need one immediately. But I have a feeling I’m not the only one this has happened to. Amiright?

Luckily, Black Friday is next week and stores are having — get this! — PRE-Black Friday sales. Gotta love holiday consumerism. Well, for once, it worked in my favor. So, my extra money went to Lowes instead of the credit cards. Unfortunately, that didn’t cover the whole cost and we had to put $160 on a credit card. *&%$!!!

Two steps forward and one step back, I guess.

This freezer is an important part of my frugal living plans. Besides deer meat, my husband and I have talked about buying a side of beef direct from a local farmer at significant savings over grocery store costs.  When there’s a sale, I can stock up and store items in the freezer for later. I also want to experiment with bulk cooking, freezing whole casseroles and other meals too. In the summer, I planned to freeze fruits and veggies.

NewFreezer1  NewFreezer2

Now, at 14.8 cu. ft. capacity, I think I’ll be able to store some food. Although right now it’s only holding the pies from Thing2’s fundraiser until we can distribute them to the proper customers.

Freezers have changed since we bought our last one. I remember using boxes to divide different categories of stuff, because the freezer was basically a big, empty hole. Somebody finally came up with the brilliant idea to add sliding baskets to hold smaller items – halleluia! And now there’s a light so I can see all the way to the bottom, too.

Another nice feature is that it’s Energy Star rated and estimated to use only 357 kWh per year. At my current costs that translates to about $44/year or $3.87/month. Although it’s not the $38/year they approximated, it’s still pretty good.

Yes, it’s a significant outlay of money right now, particularly with Christmas coming up. The only thing that keeps me from utter frustration right now is knowing it will save us money later on.

Do you have an extra freezer? What do you store in it? Do you think it saves you money, time, etc.?

4 comments on “The Best Laid Plans…

  1. D J Mills says:

    Yes, I have a freezer besides the small freezer at the top of the fridge. And, yes, it saves money. I buy a side of beef each year, so save lots of money if compared to buying small amounts each week at supermarket. Difference between $25.00 a kilo for steaks at supermarket and $7.00 a kilo for side of beet from the butcher. I also use the freezer for homemade ice cream, freezing vegs I grow and surplus fruits given to me by friends during summer. I also preserve fruits and vegs and use all year.

    Sorry to hear your freezer died, but they do every so often, along with washing machines (my washing machine is ready to die any day) and other household goods. At least the new one will use less electricity, lowering your monthly bill.

    Keep going, and don’t worry about one small setback. I am cheering you on. 🙂

    Like

    • E.K. Carmel says:

      Thanks for the encouragement and info on what you have in your freezer!

      Sorry to hear about your washing machine. At least you know it’s on its way out. That won’t make it any easier when it finally goes, but at least you’ll have time to look around beforehand.

      I’m excited to build up my freezer supplies. We now have the deer meat from the processor and we’re hoping for maybe one more before hunting season ends. I’d like to do some bulk cooking and freeze whole casseroles, etc., too.

      Like

  2. I think when we make plans the universe takes notice and tests us to see if we really mean it. A freezer is needed to store food for future use. It will pay for itself in the long run. Keep going.

    Like

Tell me what you REALLY think.

