Writing in the Midst of Life

This has been a week full of distractions to my writing, but also a week filled with life. And yet, somehow in the midst, I managed to get a nice chunk of revision done.

My girls are on Summer vacation, which we all know is code for extra work for parents. Lots of filling out paperwork for camps and finding things for my youngest to do so she doesn’t get herself into trouble. Researching colleges, SAT prep, and financial aid for the oldest. The extra shopping required to feed and clothe the little animals. Not to mention, two teenage girls in the same house is like two starved hyenas stuck in a cage.

On a lighter note, the girls and I picked strawberries on a local farm with my sister. My oldest was adopted by two of the farmer’s children who were adorable and very articulate for three- and four-year-olds. It didn’t take them any time at all to win her over and convince her to let them listen to her mp3 player for a while. Sneaky.

StrawberryField

My sister and I bought several bags of pea pods still on the vine from a different farmer. She and I and our mom pulled them off the vine and  shucked them, all the while talking and making plans for upcoming events. It’s been a long time since we got together like that.

Peas on the Vine

Another day, my oldest and I picked cherries from my sister’s tree which turned out to be a good time to talk about movies and books and her latest craft obsession.

Half the strawberries and peas went into the freezer for winter enjoyment. We’ve made strawberry smoothies and crushed strawberries over vanilla ice cream. You haven’t eaten peas until you’ve cooked up some fresh ones. They’re so tender and sweet! As for the cherries, I ran out of freezer space and we’ve just been eating them by the handfuls.

So when in the middle of all this did I get my writing done? Most of it in the early morning before the chaos fully hit. That’s still my most productive time. But I also slipped a few short sessions in at different times of the day. Just pecked away at it, little by little, as I mentioned in my previous post.

An interesting by-product of this schedule is that I’m actually ready and anticipating these sessions. Instead of bemoaning the fact I had to stop to do things, I went with the flow, knowing I’d have time later. As a result, I felt less frustrated and more productive. It’s definitely a better mindset.

How was your week? What did you do that was fun and/or productive?

images courtesy of benketaro and SMcGarnigle via Flickr

3 comments on “Writing in the Midst of Life

  1. D J Mills says:

    My fun was stoking my wood fire with more wood and sitting on the lounge while the heat wrapped around me. And watching the tennis, and laughing at the antics of my four Sussex hens chasing other birds out of the yard. Oh, and improving plots and scene sentences before I start writing new stories. Fun!
    Glad you are enjoying your summer with your family.

    Like

  2. E.K. Carmel says:

    Oh, I wish I wasn’t so allergic to wood fires – there’s something so soothing about it in the cold months! So many people I know have started raising hens and they tell me these great stories. Good entertainment, apparently! Stay warm and have fun plotting!

    Like

  3. Lucinda says:

    I enjoy your pricey info you provide as part of your content articles. Let me be capable to search for your own web site along with function our youngsters examine right up the following normally. My partner and i?l rather selected they are going to be knlgbedweaole loads of brand new things listed here as compared to any individual otherwise!

    Like

Tell me what you REALLY think.

