2012 Wrap-Up & IWSG

I consider 2012 my year of two steps forward and one-and-a-half steps back. And just when I needed it most, it’s time for the Insecure Writers’ Support Group. IWSG is a blog hop I recently joined where writers pull together to help one another.

InsecureWritersSupportGroup

First up, I had four goals I hoped to accomplish in 2012. Here’s the way it went:

  1. Finish my first draft and revise. Woo-hoo! I accomplished the first part of this. Revisions are nearly at the half-way mark, but currently stalled.
  2. Read more books. In 2011, I read nineteen books. In 2012, I read twenty-two. I was hoping for more.
  3. Watch less TV. Yeah. I started out with good intentions, but there’s a definite corrolation between books not read and TV watched instead. Gotta work on that.
  4. Survive the “end of the world” and party until 2013. Well, folks, we survived not only the Mayan Apocalypse, but the Zombie Apocalypse as well! We are a weird species. As for partying, well, let’s just say Christmas wiped me out this year.

For the first half of the year, I felt like a writer and had concrete evidence to support it. I even attended my first convention – ConCarolinas – in June.

But the second half of the year, quite frankly, sucked. A series of setbacks put me under enough stress that my ability to think creatively and write took a nose dive. I slogged my way, inch by mucky inch, but without getting anywhere or taking the wrong direction.

2013 will be the year I learn to write and create even when all hell breaks loose around me. I’m sure there are strategies out there. I just need to find them and figure out what works for me.

Does anyone have any suggestions of where to start?

19 comments on “2012 Wrap-Up & IWSG

  1. I used to know an airline stewardess who dealt with unruly passengers by turning down the oxygen content, so knocking them out. Not ethical, but hey needs must. A bit harder to do for a whole family,

    Like

  2. I had a similar experience with an extremely busy November and December, and I decided to do two things: 1. Write just a little bit each day. 2. Give myself a break. I know those don’t seem to go together but they do for me. I had been stressing out over making huge goals, and I decided that I could just reach little goals and then rest. So, in the midst of the worst stressful moments . . .give yourself a break. Write one sentence. Get recharged with rest if needed.
    Best wishes for 2013!!!

    Like

  3. Nancy Reece says:

    Don’t be afraid to give yourself a break. I thought if I lost momentum I would lose everything, but it didn’t happen and then the muse came back and I was still exhausted. Take care of yourself and the rest will take care of itself!

    Like

  4. Good luck in 2013.
    Great post!
    IWSG #137 until Alex culls the list again.

    Like

  5. E.K. Carmel says:

    Thank you Barb, Tyrean, Nancy, and Melissa for your comments and well-wishes. With the craziness of the holidays out of the way, I can at least breathe and consider my options. Thanks!

    Like

  6. It’s always difficult to find the time to write in December, with it being both a stressful time in the leadup, and generally not having much free time during the holidays themselves.

    Personally, the only suggestions I could offer are the same as Tyrean suggests – write something every day, and try not to stress yourself out.

    Good luck with your revisions!

    Like

  7. I think you did very well, based on your list of resolutions. Working through times puts every one to the test. My advise would be to keep writing even when you don’t feel like it. It’s a pain and mostly you write garbage, but you can’t edit a blank page. Better times will come, just hang in there. Hope you have a great year and you get to fulfill your expectations!

    BTW, I’m so guilty of watching too much tv…:(

    Like

  8. E.K. Carmel says:

    Thanks for the comments, bloghead and Georgina!

    I did keep writing (or actually, I was revising, but it required quite a bit of new writing) up to Thanksgiving. Then, the holiday push and some emotional family stuff just shut me down. I had to put out the fires and my writing suffered.

    However, maybe I just needed the time. I looked at my WIP this morning and some ideas are kicking around. So maybe it wasn’t all bad.

    Like

  9. Angela says:

    Sorry to hear things got so stressful. I don’t really have anything to add the above suggestions except to commiserate since I end up shutting down creatively when I get stressed, too. Really I should look those suggestions over again and try them myself. 🙂

    Yah, I’m with you and Georgina, I gotta cut out some TV. I’ve been watching way too much. I think I’m gonna to start with the news since it’s so darn depressing anyway. I’ve just discovered The Big Bang Theory and I’m catching up with back episodes on TBS, I’m not too sure I can give it up just yet. Lol.

    Like

    • E.K. Carmel says:

      Lol – commiseration is good, too! I stopped watching the news a while ago for that very reason and rely on my hubby to tell me when something important happens. Love, love, love Big Bang Theory! Clever show. I swear, I know people like that but the show is so much funnier! I couldn’t give up tv entirely, but I need to cut back, that’s for sure.

      Like

  10. J.W. Alden says:

    Congrats on the goals you were able to knock down last year. Good luck in 2013!

    Like

  11. Setting concrete goals for your writing and doing daily time-slices could be the way to go. Best of luck, and let us know how it goes!

    Like

  12. E.K. Carmel says:

    Thank you, J.W. and kelworthfiles for stopping by! I’m continuing to work on this and the ideas and encouragement make all the difference.

    Like

  13. With all the apocalypses going on lately, we all need to learn to write despite hell breaking loose around us!
    Great goals.

    Like

  14. Suzanne says:

    Very best of luck with your new year goals. It is hard to keep focused when things around you are so distracting but stay with it, I’m sure it will get easier again for you. Thank you for visiting my blog and your kind words 🙂

    Like

  15. salarsen says:

    Just wanted to stop by and thank you for signing up for my writing creed!! Hopefully, it can help keep us all motivated and positive throughout this new year! Great to meet you.

    Like

Tell me what you REALLY think.

