I’m a Ramblin’ Down the Road…

Well, sort of. The kids are back at school and I have all kinds of time to write. But I’m not. Or, at least, not as much as I could.

I’m either running errands and enjoying being by myself (the introvert in me is sighing in deep, DEEP relief) or I’m wandering the house, looking at the stuff that has accumulated over the summer and thinking: Oh, crap — we’re hosting a birthday party at the end of the month and I have to get this cleaned up NOW!

I’ve had more energy lately because hubby and I get up at 5AM and walk before he goes to work. Of course this used to be my writing time, but it’s the only time he can walk and I need the motivation. So, writing time is now later, which puts me out of whack with my usual writing routine.

The walking is great and we both feel better in general, but now my knee hurts, or rather, the tendons or ligaments around it. *Damn*

This knee has caused some minor issues in the past, but the regular exercise has made it worse. I’ve been wearing a brace and taking anti-inflammatories but I woke up this morning with shooting pain. *Double damn!*

I’m going to take it easy for a few days, let the knee rest, see how it goes. If it doesn’t get better, I’ll go to the doc. I promise.

Needless to say, I’m bummed about this turn of events. However, while my husband was walking alone this morning, I got a good chunk of writing done. It FLOWED! The words came SO EASILY.

That thump you heard was my head hitting my writing table.

On to other stuff now (before I start to throw things).

My mother convinced me to join her History of Art Club. I tend to be a recluse unless forced out of my shell and Mom has been talking up the club for a couple years. She promised me no responsibility and short meetings about interesting topics.

I can get on that kind of a bandwagon.

I love art and have always been a highly visual person, easily affected by color and texture. For a semester in college I even majored in Graphic Design before I realized it was making me hate something I loved.

The first two meetings coming up aren’t short, but are trips to local places of historic and artistic interest. Strangely enough, I’ve been to neither, and I’m looking forward to them. I may even post about them in the coming weeks.

To finish off this bloggy mess, here are three links I found interesting this past week. I always like a laugh with my writing advice:

Chuck Wendig lists his 25 of My Personal Rules For Writing and Telling Stories  with surprisingly little of his usual profanity.

Writers are told time and again to kill off their “darlings.” Kristen Lamb explains her unique (as always) take on this familiar piece of writing advice in her post Little Darlings & Why They Must Die…for REAL

Getting off the funny and going for some straight talk, I ran across this older post from someone new to me. Check it out. Scifi author Veronica Sicoe explains The Shocking Truth About Being a Professional Writer

Now that I’ve unloaded, what’s new with you?

photo courtesy of Dana Ross Martin WANA Commons

11 comments on “I’m a Ramblin’ Down the Road…

  1. Ow, I hope your knee feels better soon!

    My [fiction] writing took a back burner the last month or so. I made a big, but liberating, change in my business which has thrown my schedule all outta whack. On top of that, my daughter joined three clubs which added another wrinkle that has taken about three weeks to iron out. But I think I have everything in the fold now (finally!) and will be able to resume my daily writing routine. The big change I made in my business also added a little fire under my butt on the writing front, but I’ll share more about that next month. Meanwhile, I’m still plugging away at house repairs so I can hopefully put it on the market around April next year.

    P.S. You’re a friend-makin’ machine on Goodreads 🙂 So for an introvert you’ve made lots more friends than me in a shorter amount of time. 😛

    Like

    • E.K. Carmel says:

      Thanks, Leah. Oooo – sounds like interesting things are cookin’ at your place! Can’t wait to hear the new plans. Selling a house is a huge deal, particularly if you have repairs to make. (I still remember what a pain it was to put a new roof on our old house.) Good luck!

      As for Goodreads – heh – I hit the wrong button and sent out invitations to everyone on my Twitter list. Woops! NOT what I had intended to do.

      Like

  2. Great post. Try swimming to strengthen your knee. all the best for your writing

    Like

    • E.K. Carmel says:

      Thank you, Barb, swimming is a good idea, but I don’t have access right now. For the moment the brace is making a big difference, though. I took a short walk today and it seems ok. I’ll see how it’s doing tomorrow morning.

      Like

  3. Angela says:

    Ow! *wince* Sorry about the knee.

    I got to go to DragonCon this year and after that we went to Savannah for a day or so then came home via a side trip to Hilton Head. I’m still exhausted but have a lot of great memories.

    Like

    • E.K. Carmel says:

      Eh, it’s hell to get old, I guess. I’ll figure it out eventually.

      I’m so jealous you got to go to DragonCon! That whole weekend I kept thinking about what a great time I was missing. Ah, well, I’ll get to it one of these years. I’m glad you made an extended vacation of it and that you had a great time.

      Like

  4. J. L. Mbewe says:

    Sorry about your knee! Hope it feels better quick. I miss walking outside in the country. Still adjusting to town life, but at least I haven’t had to deal with scorpions. We’re having our share of adjustments and I’m still trying to figure out when is the best time for me to squeeze some writing in. So glad you had a moment that your writing flowed. I love when that happens. 🙂

    Like

  5. J. L. Mbewe says:

    Oh and I meant to mention, I love the title of your blog. It’s all about the journey. 🙂

    Like

    • E.K. Carmel says:

      Hi, J.L. and thank you for your kind thoughts! We actually live in a small village so we walk the sidewalks. I grew up in the country, though, and miss wandering in the fields and along streams. It takes time to figure out writing times and then just when I figure it out, it changes. Oh,well. And I’m glad you like my tagline 😉

      Like

  6. D J Mills says:

    Hope the knee is getting better.
    I successfully moved into my new home and unpacked, but still looking for things because I forgot where I placed them. 🙂
    Back to writing yesterday, finally, but only got 700 odd words. Still, I will work back into 2K daily in no time, I hope.
    Hope you settle into your new writing time slot, too.

    Like

    • E.K. Carmel says:

      The knee is feeling much better now, thanks.

      Good to hear you’re in your new home and getting settled in. I’ve got say that 700 words is pretty awesome for just having made a move! If I know you, it won’t take you long to get back to your usual quota. Good wishes!

      Like

Tell me what you REALLY think.

