My Muse Brought Out The Goodies

This morning, I got hit by a series of ideas from my Muse and all I can say is:

THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU!

The intensity actually made me dizzy for a while. Too bad I had to break the moment and take my kid to Driver’s Ed.

No, I was NOT driving impaired.

Sheesh…

Anyway, as I’ve mentioned before, I’m working on my novel revision while taking Holly Lisle’s How To Revise Your Novel course. I’ve been working for weeks, breaking down all the parts, seeing what I had, and now I’m into the major surgery.

I knew my first draft ending sucked — big time — but didn’t know how to fix it. I was working on a lesson about tracking and completing conflict arcs. I followed all the conflicts and I finally, FINALLY saw what needed to happen!

My heroine surprised the heck out of me by honoring a fallen comrade, with whom she’s had disagreements, in an unusual way, something that I think will be a complete surprise to readers. It’s a small thing, but big in meaning, and I love it.

I’ve worried about the “government’s” reaction to the events that occurred and what my heroine and her group did to save their city and people. How to make it realistic without being either boring or oppressive? Well, in the typical way of most governments, this one will give with one hand, while taking away with the other. It pisses off my heroine and hints at problems down the road.

There were a couple other things, too, but those are harder to explain, so I’ll just leave it at that.

It is absolutely breathtaking when one’s subconscious decides it wants to play nice! Has this happened to you with your writing?

Photo © Melis82 | Stock Free Images & Dreamstime Stock Photos

12 comments on “My Muse Brought Out The Goodies

  1. Congrats! I am already intrigued and would love to read this novel someday :o)

    Like

  2. The more you work on it the more it gets a life of its own and you can read it better, so write it well. Sounds great. congrats.

    Like

  3. I find my muse visits after I’ve traveled and taken time away from writing, or after recovering from an illness. That’s why I allow “breathing room” for incubation…I hear my subconscious better that way. Congrats!

    Like

  4. My muse usually hits when I’m not thinking about her at all.

    Like

  5. E.K. Carmel says:

    Thanks all! I notice two seemingly opposite ideas here, but honestly, I think they’re connected.

    I agree with Barb in that the more you live with your story and characters, the more they take on a life of their own in your subconscious that allows true connections to be made.

    I also agree with Denise and Tonya that one needs to give the Muse some space, some time away from active thinking about the project, in order to create the fertile ground for those connections to occur.

    At least for me, I’ve found I need both. Of course I think it also requires the luxury of time, which the publishing world doesn’t seem to want to allow writers – and that’s a whole ‘nother topic…

    Like

  6. Leah says:

    After Holly’s HtTS course I figured out the best way to inspire (and then hear) my Muse was to do something that doesn’t require words: I do housework in the winter or tend the garden in the summer. So, for instance, while reading my cards for a chapter in Wolf, I realized something just wasn’t right. I asked two questions and then went outside. About two hours later, lightening bolt!

    Like

  7. Angela/Curiocat says:

    What a great breakthrough. It’s the best feeling in the world when your muse gives you a treat. I’m with you that all of the above works at one time or another. The trick is figuring out which one to use! Sometimes you just have to try them all. Can’t wait to read the end result. 🙂

    Like

  8. J. L. Mbewe says:

    Yes, it is amazing experience…although, I don’t know exactly how it all comes to pass because I’ve tried “recreate” the experience and it doesn’t work like that for me. 🙂 Anyways, I will take what I can get from my muse when it does strike…

    Like

  9. Great feeling! 🙂
    My muse does not want to play at the moment because it is just too cold.

    Like

  10. E.K. Carmel says:

    Thanks, Angela, J.L. & Diane! Muses are funny, fickle creatures. What works one time doesn’t always the next. At least, that’s been my experience. And I agree – I’ll take whatever my Muse will throw at me!

    Wishes of warmth coming your way, Diane! I know it’s hard to be creative when you’re uncomfortable.

    Like

Tell me what you REALLY think.

