Randomness

My mind has been breaking off into different directions this week and I couldn’t settle down into one specific subject to post. So this will be a mashup of thoughts and links.

I’m so glad my daughters are old enough to amuse themselves without my constant attention. Gone are the days of having to plan and schedule school holidays with near-military precision.

They’ve been home for the last week and a half on Spring Break, and, as long as I keep the fridge and pantry stocked, they and their friends are back and forth between houses and occupied.

I like self-sufficiency.

* * *

I’ve been on Twitter for a little while now. Apart from the obvious time-loss effect (which I’m getting better at managing), I find it’s opened up for me the wider world of writing and publishing and interesting tangential (oh, ok, sometimes completely unrelated, but cool) facts, ideas, associations, and people.

By following a few well-known authors, I’ve gotten a glimpse into their writing lives: how they write, how often they write, and the fact they write in between walking the dog, knitting projects, emergencies with their kids, etc., just like everyone else.

I also enjoy the humorous give and take of certain authors, the calling-out and “double-dog dare ya” sort of thing which, in and of itself, is simply blowing off steam, but in a communal way.

My favorite authors to follow are John Scalzi (@scalzi), Kristen Lamb (@KristenLambTX), Chuck Wendig (@ChuckWendig), Wil Wheaton (@wilw), and Kate Elliott (@KateElliottSFF) and I watch the #MyWANA and #amwriting hashtags.

From these folks and others and the writing blogs and publishers I follow, I learn what is going on in the writing and publishing world right now.  Of course I can’t keep up with everything, but I feel a bit more in tune with my chosen profession simply by taking a few minutes to look.

* * *

Speaking of which, I adore John Scalzi’s gleeful snarkiness, but he also has a serious side. He had a blog post last week , that I found myself thinking about often.

Briefly, there is still a double standard at work even on what some may feel is the level playing field of the internet. Some female writers/bloggers have been subject to horrific treatment by commenters that just appalls me. I invite you to read it and Mr. Scalzi’s other links in the post and see what you think.

* * *

For the last few months I’ve re-watched the more recent Battlestar Galactica series.  The first time around, I loved the show for it’s entertainment value. This time, I’m more aware of the fact it was well-written, well-acted, and had so much bubbling just under the surface.

You also don’t have to be a fan of sci-fi to enjoy this show since the story lines are often character-driven and multi-layered. For writers, there is so much that can be learned here about plot, character, dialogue, foreshadowing, theme etc. I also noticed how well they handled arcs (character, season, and series) and saw the obvious parallels in writing novels and series. Something to think about.

I know I may get some flak for this, but I have a hard time deciding which I like better, Firefly or Battlestar Galactica.

*ducks head*

* * *

What are your opinions on any of these random thoughts?

7 comments on “Randomness

  1. I keep hearing good stuff about Battlestar as being the only really modern storytelling with multistranded storylines and, as you say, character driven which is unusual in sci fi. All good stuff, and having kids is probably a good source of new stuff

    Like

    • E.K. Carmel says:

      I started out a Scifi fan at a young age and have watched a fair amount and I think Battlestar Galactica is one of the best shows.

      Yes, it’s never a dull moment with kids around and they do effect my writing.

      Like

  2. Hello! I am rather new at all of this. I am 48 and have only just admitted I am a writer. Not a published writer, yet anyway, but one working at it. I have resisted the urge to take the journey for so many years and now I mourn the loss of the great, so I think, ideas that have passed through my brain. Life was always too busy. I just kept refusing to take the time to write regularly. So, I am just beginning and my website and blog are newborns. Suffice it to say I have a lot to learn.

    I was just looking over a book written by Naomi Epel called “Writers Dreaming”. It was published in 1993 by Carol Southern Books & Random House. It might give you some inspiration. I took it out of my local library.

    I guess my advice is just ride the wave and carry on with the journey. Now that my kids are grown, I am finally beginning. Wish I’d started earlier.

    All the best.

    Like

  3. E.K. Carmel says:

    Welcome Lisa!

    It doesn’t matter when you start, just that you make that start. It’s not like you were doing nothing all those years, you were raising a family – an awesome accomplishment! From reading your blog, I see you are willing to try something new, once you wrap your head around it. Trust me, it gets easier the more you do that.

    Best wishes for your new journey!

    Like

  4. curiocat says:

    I’m more of a Firefly/Serenity fan myself. Joss Whedan pretty much rules. Lol

    Like

  5. Lotta says:

    Olá Nadji,Esta combinação me agrada, aliás todas as suas apresentações são tão perfeitas que é muito difícil dizer o que não me agrada…Que o Nosso Domingo seja de Paz e See!eidadn!!r1000 Beijokinhas

    Like

Tell me what you REALLY think.

