Blink…or You’ll Miss It

The last two weeks haven’t been terribly conducive to blogging, but I now have photographic proof of the existence of the elusive northeastern U.S. snowfall!

This morning, we woke up to one of the few pretty winter mornings we’ve had this season. So I had to snap some photos. It’ll all be gone by this afternoon, if the weather guys are accurate, so I guess I get to enjoy them now forever.

Have a great – and productive – rest of your week and weekend!

8 comments on “Blink…or You’ll Miss It

  1. Sharon says:

    We got about an inch of snow last weekend here in Virginia, but I’ve given up on seeing anything like what’s in your pictures this season. It’s supposed to get up to 70 today. So I’ve gone ahead and planted peas in the garden. Hopefully it won’t be too warm for them!

    Like

    • E.K. Carmel says:

      Wow, 70! It’s been my experience peas can survive into the 70s, but that’s after they’ve germinated in the 50s or 60s first. I fear this is going to be an awful year for farmers. Good luck!

      Like

  2. Angela/Curiocat says:

    We blinked. We did get snow in NC but we weren’t here to enjoy it. We were in MD where it was supposed to snow but it didn’t so we missed out altogether. Maybe next year.

    Like

    • E.K. Carmel says:

      I wouldn’t mind no snow, but I can’t complain about the little we’ve gotten this year. My natural instinct is to hibernate when it’s cold and snowy and I’ve been amazed at how much I’ve accomplished this winter!

      Like

  3. My toes are cold just looking at the pictures, even though the pictures are lovely. 🙂
    I hope you had a wood fire burning to warm up the house and reverse cycle air conditioners running. I am very happy I live 28 degrees south of the equator! 🙂

    Like

    • E.K. Carmel says:

      Thanks, Diane! I’m having fun this year snapping photos of my gardens at different seasons.

      I wish I could have a woodstove in our house, but I’m allergic to the smoke. However, our electric furnace keeps us warm, though we haven’t really needed it turned up high this year.

      It must be strange seeing photos of snow when you are in the middle of summer. How cold does it actually get during the winter where you live?

      Like

      • Sometimes it gets cold enough to wear slippers and a jumper at night, and sometimes during the day the wind is so cold, I can’t feel my feet unless I wear socks, but visitors from the south of the country still wear shorts and shirts during the really cold days. 🙂 Our buildings are designed to be cool, not warm, so we run reverse cycle air conditioners on hot for a few weeks each year. Mostly the aircons are on cold cycle.

        Where I live, it could get down to single digits, 8 or 9 degrees celcius each night for up to a week before the temp rises, but further inland it does go minus 1 or 2 degrees celcius.

        Think of countries just south of Tropic of Capricorn (Botswana or northern Argintina), or just north of Tropic of Cancer (top section of Mexico).

        Today it is 24 degrees celcius and almost 80 percent humidity. I can’t wait for the rain to clear and the humidity to drop to 50 percent and the temp to raise a few degrees. 🙂

        Like

        • E.K. Carmel says:

          Ahhhh. From your comments, I wondered if that wasn’t the case.

          That would be nice only having to warm the house up for a few weeks of the year. I usually try not to turn the heat on here until Nov, but then it’s on straight through til May. I never considered living anywhere else until the last few years. The cold coupled with the humidity (which you apparently have, too!) are convincing me a move of some sort is in my future, though probably not until our children are on their own.

          Like

Tell me what you REALLY think.

