Aaargh! Or, My Work (Not) in Progress

I’m in the middle of writing the last quarter of my novel and things aren’t going so well.

To be honest, I’ve let a lot of stuff throw me off my game.

Events in my hometown have everyone on edge and has been my biggest distraction. I’m able to focus for a short while, then it just dissipates. phhht!

I’ve also let several little annoying things (and a couple big ones) pile up. Once the pile gets big enough, things start to go wrong, so I have to stop and put out the fires. And get further behind.

No matter. Enough is enough and it’s time to get back to work.

6 comments on “Aaargh! Or, My Work (Not) in Progress

  1. I just wrote about how we used to count how many times the coyote was killed in an episode of Road Runner…lol

    Like

    • E.K. Carmel says:

      I like that – and thanks for stopping to comment!

      To be honest, I didn’t much like Wile E. when I was a kid. He wasn’t too smart and I figured he got what he deserved. But, this week? I totally sympathized with him.

      Like

  2. I could say I understand life getting in the way, or I could say you have the tools needed to write the scenes (ten minute timer and sentence broken into create, complicate and resolve) but you are the one who needs to decide which is more important, finishing the novel or sorting out life issues.

    Either way, when you are ready to take your novel through HTRYN you will improve the ending, then further improve it when your beta readers cast their eyes over it, so don’t stress over the little things.

    Hugs from me and hope your daughter’s health improves soon. 🙂

    Like

    • E.K. Carmel says:

      Thanks for the hugs, but my daughter isn’t one of those that’s ill. Sorry if I gave that impression.

      As for getting back to writing, yes, I’m writing, though not at my previous rate. The timer came in handy a couple of times. Some of it is simply setting the tremendous load of media garbage aside (I can’t believe how tough that’s been!) and focusing on some aspect of my WIP.

      Actually, I can’t wait to start the HTRYN process!

      Like

  3. Angela/Curiocat says:

    You know I can commiserate all too well. It seems the least little upsets throw me off and it takes forever for me to get settled and focused again. I’m in one of those funks myself at the moment. No focus at all for writing and forget blogging.

    Part of it is my back has been killing me worse than usual so sitting at the computer is hard, the rest is other things that have popped up over the last month. Distractions all.

    If I hold your proverbial toes to the fire, you think you could do the same for me? 🙂

    Like

    • E.K. Carmel says:

      I’m so sorry you’re in pain. I can sympathize. I just went to see my chiropractor today. There’s nothing like it to make the Muse run and hide. Hopefully, you will get some relief soon. And focus.

      Is it getting hot in here? Or is it just me?

      Like

Tell me what you REALLY think.

