My Shopping Philosophy (sort of)

Right after Thanksgiving it seems the world explodes. At least for me. The rush is on towards Christmas and all the craziness that goes with it.

I’ve written heartfelt posts at Christmas before, so this year I’m wallowing in the crude, commercial side…

My sister announced just after Thanksgiving that she had all her Christmas shopping done. On the one hand, I’m happy for her, since that isn’t usually the case with her. On the other hand, I felt like scratching her eyes out.

Then someone I know crowed to the Facebook world that she had all her presents bought, wrapped and mailed out on Black Friday. The implication was that she was at home, smug and warm in her comfies while the rest of the world was OD-ing on caffeine and clawing over everyone else to score the best sales.

Have you noticed that some people take great delight in taunting us shopping procrastinators?

Shameless, really.

Of course I wasn’t always the shopping curmudgeon I am today. I loved shopping when I was a teenager. Back when I still had a figure guys turned around to watch. And a disposable income. Ah, those were the days…

Even back then, though, I needed a purpose to shop.

As a fairly introverted person, I need a mission to brave the obnoxious crowds, the businesses that apparently think we are all idiots, the Sahara-dry air, and the germs, or it just isn’t worth the bother.

Which is why I absolutely adore shopping with my computer. For certain items. Books, music, games, electronics, housewares and other stuff that I can research and read reviews on, are my favorite things to buy online. The last few years, I’ve been creating photo books for our parents and daughters. You have the option to have as much control in making photo projects as you want and the end-result is absolutely gorgeous!

Clothing still requires an in-store visit because I don’t trust sizing charts and I’m still not convinced I’m seeing the exact color shade when it’s on the computer screen. (Besides, I like to feeeeeeel the material.) I trust my senses more when buying clothing. But I usually do my research online first, so I can zero in on just what I’m looking for.

For stocking stuffers, I love my local Main Street shops. I often discover little gems that can’t be found in Walmart or the mall. Not to mention, the crowds (if that) are often people I know.

And as for candy, candy, CANDY, the ultimate, must-have Christmas item…I prefer a candy manufacturer near me. That way I can find the milk chocolate my youngest daughter loves, the dark chocolate the oldest daughter adores, the “anything” chocolate my husband likes, and what I crave: Rich honey nougat drenched in buttery caramel and rolled in roasted pecans. (Ok, it’s called a pecan log, but, really, that sounds so boring doesn’t it?)

I figure I’m a little better than 3/4s done with my shopping now and it’s what, 10 days ’til Christmas? I’ve got plenty of time…

How do you prefer to shop? How is your Christmas shopping progressing?

6 comments on “My Shopping Philosophy (sort of)

  1. *coughallmyshoppingisdonecough*

    Online, definitely. But the kid and I did brave Walmart on Black Friday so that we could buy decorations. (I don’t go for all that sale hysteria.) It wasn’t too bad, probably because most shoppers were there and gone by ridiculous hours like 6 or 7am 😉

    I’m with you, I prefer to touch and examine things when I buy them, so the kid and I enjoy the occasional stroll around a book store or craft store or even the mall at off-peak times. Okay, who am I kidding? If we’re at either of the former two we’re there for no less than two hours. 🙂

    Take care!

    Like

    • ekcarmel says:

      Oh, Leah, you are so much better at replying to posts than I am!

      I’ve heard some places on Black Friday are like ghost towns by 8 am. But that still doesn’t induce me. Bah, humbug!

      I’m with you on the book and craft stores. Sooooo much fun to meander around…

      Like

  2. Oh, I want a pecan log or two, or three.

    As for shopping, I hate it. I make a list, rush in, locate everything on the list, pay and get out as fast as I can. Online shopping is so much more peaceful, and relaxed.

    As for Xmas shopping, I wait for the New Year sales. Half the price and same selection as before Xmas.

    I wish your family a wonderful end of year holiday, and look forward to reading more blogs in 2012. :-).

    Like

    • ekcarmel says:

      I’m with you, Diane!

      But I have to say, I rarely have any money left to spend after Christmas on sales. I wish I was one of those people who could shop during the year instead of right at Christmas-time.

      I hope you and your family have a lovely holiday, as well!

      Like

  3. Angela/Curiocat says:

    I still don’t have even half of my shopping done. Ugh! Added to that I still need to shop for Holly’s baby’s gender reveal party two days before Christmas. This week is going to be crazy! Wish me luck.

    Like

    • ekcarmel says:

      A gender reveal party – that’s a new one on me! Is this part of a baby shower or before the shower? Either way, two days before Christmas makes for a busy holiday, particularly if you are the one hosting the party.

      I wish you lots of helpful people to assist you and good-luck to smooth over any problems in your way. And Merry Christmas!

      Like

Tell me what you REALLY think.

