Back To A Little Normalcy (I Hope)

Sorry for dropping off the face of the earth.

All of a sudden, the end of summer loomed and I still had projects around the house, back-to-school shopping, a quick trip, and writing to squeeze in. I’m still trying to catch my breath.

But I’m so happy to get back to my normal schedule.


During the summer, everything just seems a little – off – if you know what I mean.

Of course, each summer has it’s flavor. Some summers have been nothing but a constant struggle to keep the kids from attacking each other. Last year, the girls went through several weeks where they got along so well, my husband suggested they should visit the doctor because they must be ill. I think he jinxed it, because soon after that they had an argument and it all went to hell.

Then, there were the busier-than-usual summers. Long trips to Canada or the Thousand Islands or the Adirondacks. Or the summer we gutted the bathroom in our old house and had to live with Grandpa for awhile. Not fun with little ones, but definitely memorable. Our annual summer trips with my sister-in-law’s family have stopped because now her two sons both have jobs. I do miss those trips.

Children grow up and times change.

This summer, once the kids were out of school, I was surprised by how well the days went. I got my writing done first thing in the morning while the kids slept. My youngest was out the door to play with friends after breakfast and I barely saw her much of the day. The oldest hung around the house more, but she had friends over and, when they weren’t raiding the fridge and freezer, were watching videos and playing video games and, once – gasp – cleaning her room!

We really couldn’t afford to go on any extended trips this year. My husband and I took a couple day-long jaunts, just the two of us, which were lovely. The girls and I went with my mother and nephew to my parents’ place in the Adirondacks for a couple days, which was a decidely un-restful trip, for sure.

Then, half way through the summer, my youngest stopped hanging out with her friends as much. Thus, the tension in the house increased and the rest of the summer was combative.

Ah, well. So it goes.

My writing suffered a bit as the tides within the house rose and fell. I also got myself lost a couple times but found my way again. Since my last posting of word counts, I’ve added over 7600 words. That puts me at a little over 23000 words for this summer. It’s not what I had planned, but I’m quite happy with what I’ve accomplished.

If nothing else, it’s been my most productive writing summer to date.

Now school is back in session, signalling the beginning of the fall season. My favorite time of the year. Soon, I’ll be watching the skies and smelling the air for that first trace of real autumn.

Should I tell you I’m already planning for our Halloween Party?

How was your summer (or winter, as is the case for my friends in the southern hemisphere)? Were you as productive as you had planned? Or did Life throw you some curves?

12 comments on “Back To A Little Normalcy (I Hope)

  1. It doesn’t surprise me in the least that you’re already planning your Halloween Party! That’s a great word count for summer and I know you’ve done a lot of hard work with the story behind those words too.

    Like

    • ekcarmel says:

      I’m shooting for “awesome” in both cases. For me, right now, that means putting some time into it. I’m afraid I’ve got a case of word count envy when looking at your stats, though – now that’s what I call awesome!

      Like

  2. Well done with the word count. 🙂

    Like

  3. Great job with your writing. You have every reason to be pleased with yourself.

    I’ve been looking for signs of autumn, too. I love the cooler weather and the bright colors of leaves changing. There’s always a sense of anticipation associated with this time of year, at least for me.

    Btw. I finally got myself to go see the final Harry Potter movie. I cried through the whole thing especially when Snape faced Voldemort for the last time. I know, I’m weird.

    When it ended my first thought was it wasn’t long enough! Lol. Then I thought I’ve got to go back and read the books! No, no I’ve got to see the movies again. I guess I’ll figure out. 🙂

    Here’s a little post you might be interested in. I enjoyed it:

    http://lanternhollow.wordpress.com/2011/09/05/review-harry-potter-and-the-meaning-of-it-all/

    Like

    • ekcarmel says:

      Thanks, Angela!

      I’ve noticed my sense of anticipation for fall is overshadowed only by my anticipation for spring. However, there’s an important difference: I don’t love spring the way I love fall. I just dislike winter more!

      So glad you finally saw the last movie! I teared up at Snape’s scene too. I was remembering more of the book rather than just what was shown in the movie. That combination always gets my tear ducts working.

      I agree, it seemed short to me also, just because I didn’t want it all to end.

      The link was interesting. I agreed with some of it and disagreed with other parts of it. However, it’s nice to see a Christian view that doesn’t include tarring and feathering JK Rowling.

      Like

  4. dbalekseev says:

    When I had the option for my youngest to attend morning Young 5s this fall, I grabbed it. This is my first “year” (starting this September) writing on a regular basis, and mornings are my best time. I’m nervous about vacations and summers, though, so I will take your entry as a word of caution! I read on Miss GOPs site that vacations, in particular, should be used for revision only…and with your word count you’d at least have something to revise! I’m at 7,500 for 9 mornings of writing, so I need to keep at it!

    Like

    • ekcarmel says:

      Thanks for stopping by – and congrats on taking the writing bug in hand and running with it! That psychological leap can be huge and when you have little ones at home it can be particularly challenging.

      If you get in the writing habit, vacations and summers will work themselves out with a little rearranging and some re-evaluating.

      Revision only during vacation time? I’m afraid I’m not far enough along to plan things that well, though I’m hoping I’ll be revising by the time my kids have Christmas break. That would be nice.

      Your word count is great, but don’t beat yourself up if, somewhere down the road, you slip. Perseverance is your friend.

      Like

  5. Tammy says:

    Sounds like you had a fabulously productive summer together with all of the real life stuff.

    Like

Tell me what you REALLY think.

