Adventures at the Geek Store

There are times I wonder what store clerks say when they go home to their families after experiencing my family. This weekend, we were in prime form…

We wanted to upgrade cell phones and change our phone plans around. We went to Best Buy. (Before I go any further:  Neither I, nor any of my family or friends, work at the Best Buy store or own stock in the company. This is not a paid ad or endorsement. Promise. Cross my heart and hope to die. Stick a needle in my eye. (Have you ever noticed how gruesome childhood sayings are once you write them out?!))

Um. Right. Cell phones.

Our plan allows us five phone lines. Having my father-in-law and his wife on our plan filled our quota. However, we wanted our youngest daughter to have a phone. So, we worked out a deal with my sister-in-law that would put father-in-law’s wife on their plan, we would keep father-in-law, and then add our daughter. Oh, and upgrade four out of seven phones. Sounds simple, right? Wrong. Cell phone plans have gotten amazingly complex. Especially when you are dealing with smartphones and data packages and syncing earpieces and transfering contacts.

It took us a looooong while. Two hours in fact. After about an hour, several more sales associates miraculously appeared. I suspect they had to call in the troops after we descended upon them.

Now, a lot of people get frustrated and downright surly under such circumstances. Not us. We feel it’s our duty to keep everyone in a good mood. Particularly since we’re the ones causing the back-up in the first place.

I also think the fact that we had a great time the night before with relatives we haven’t seen in years had something to do with it. (Pour a little alcohol on this clan and the stories and jokes get better with the telling!) Anyway, we were all in high spirits and I think it leaked out.

A couple times we even had Dan, our fantastic sales associate, and the guy he was training, laughing so hard they had to stop what they were doing for a moment.

In the meantime, we met some very nice folks waiting in line.  One lady said she was hoping to just get in and out with her purchase, but didn’t mind the wait since the entertainment was so good.

Yesssss – that’s what we like to hear!

My husband and I have bought electronic equipment at various stores over the years. We’ve dealt with quality as well as crap. In the last few years, we’ve bought computers, home network equipment, video recorders, mp3 players, etc. from Best Buy and they’ve become our new favorite store. The sales associates are usually knowledgeable and great to deal with. Every once in a while, we run into a problem with something we’ve bought, but they fix it and we’re on our way.

Have you had any interesting adventures lately?

 *  *  *  *  *

Just a note on my WIP:

Due to the Fourth of July holiday and visiting relatives, I only managed 1390 words. By the end of this week, I’ll see where I stand. I may have to refigure the weekly word count.

However, during this time off, I noticed something. Well, a couple things. First, I think I pushed myself a little too far the one week. I felt pretty drained of ideas and stamina after that. Then, during this light week, a couple good ideas drifted in when I wasn’t actively thinking about the writing. So, it’s all good, as far as I’m concerned.

Have a wonderful week, everyone!

2 comments on “Adventures at the Geek Store

  1. Two hours! Maybe you all should have charged admission. Lol. Sounds like a hoot.

    It’s good that you’re finding a writing balance that works for you. You’ve been inspiring me. I broke through my writing paralysis last week and got about four pages done. Yay!

    P.S. I finally got to see the new version of True Grit and enjoyed it very much. I wasn’t sure if I would like Jeff Bridges in the Rooster Cogburn role but he did a good job.

    Like

    • ekcarmel says:

      My neighbor told me it took two hours just to get *one* phone when they went to the big name phone store! That made me feel better. And no, we won’t charge admission. We do it as a public service – LOL!

      Good for you! I’m glad I had a small part to play in getting you out of your paralysis. Yay for our little writing community!

      I’m glad you liked the new True Grit. I have to say, for every excellent remake like this, there are at least 10 more that are aweful. I think movie (and tv) makers should be able to find plenty of new material. I wish somebody would take a chance and break us out of remake hell.

      Like

Tell me what you REALLY think.

