Time To Get It Done

It’s been over two years since I first started working on Ancient Magic. Well, ok, only about a year since I changed the story and characters, but I stayed in the same world and kept most of that worldbuilding.

Two years ago, I began this odyssey not really knowing what writing a novel would entail. Since then I’ve read how-to books, spoken to other writers, taken online writing classes, participated in forums, and I follow several writing blogs. I read in and out of my genre and I write.

Looking back, it’s been a long haul and there are times I get frustrated by the slow pace, but in the last couple of months there’s been a shift.

I’m writing more and consistently and suspect it’s probably a convergence of several factors:

  • I have a better understanding of my characters and story.
  • I’m learning to embrace the concept of a crappy first draft. Or at least I’m getting better at it. I caught myself going back and tweaking old scenes the other day. While I’m not cured of Perfect yet, I’m not nearly as bad as I used to be.
  • I’ve tried several different styles of writing (outlining, index cards, the Sentence Lite, Snowflake Method, Plot Whisperer, pantsing) and finally settled on a combination that works for me, at least for the moment.
  • My family is getting used to me disappearing into my bedroom to write and is getting better about limiting the interruptions.
  • I now call myself a writer, in addition to all my other hats. I’ve actually said it out in public, too. Believe it or not, that was a huge psychological step for me.

It’s time. Time to kick myself into gear and get movin’. Time I got this first draft DONE.

Checking out my little progress meter on the left, I’ve written 40% of what I estimate is going to be a 90,000 word novel. Using the ol’ calculator, I sat down and figured out a plan.

Giving myself until the end of September, I think I can have this first draft finished. That works out to about 3344 words per week. I know I write slowly, but I think even I can reach that.

Now, since I’ve announced it to the world, I’m accountable.

Why do I suddenly have that stomach-dropping sensation I usually get just as I take the first plunge on a rollercoaster?

12 comments on “Time To Get It Done

  1. […] Time To Get It Done (ekcarmel.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  2. That is 670 words a day, 5 days a week. You can do this. 🙂

    Like

  3. The important thing is you’ve set a goal. We’ll be here rooting for you and if you need a shoulder? We’ll be here.

    Like

    • ekcarmel says:

      Thanks, Angela, you guys are the best! I was leery about goal-setting with my writing for so long because I didn’t want to jinx it. But, I’ve gotten more confident, so decided to just jump in. Thanks for the support!

      Like

  4. 3344 words per week is not slow! My gosh. It’s not NaNoWriMo speed but then that’s a special kind of novelling speed. I’ve been setting my weekly bottom line at 700 words this year. I’m trying to focus on the habit of sitting down and writing which will inevitably result in more words each week than that.

    I love that everything you’ve been learning over the past couple years has come to a head and you’re reading to get stuck in and get that first draft finished! Happy writing!

    Like

    • ekcarmel says:

      I’ve never even considered NaNo-ing because of the pace needed for it! For a long, long time I wasn’t even averaging your 700/wk because I wouldn’t write for days at a time. It’s only in the last little while here I finally got myself to sit down each day and DO IT.

      Habits are amazing things. You don’t realize what a psychological and physical effect it has on you. I’m certain that you making the daily writing a goal will absolutely result in a higher word count as you go along. You go, girl!

      Like

  5. Tammy says:

    Yep. you can do this. And what great modeling of the right behavior!

    Like

  6. Raven says:

    You can definitely do it! Like you, I’m working on a 2-year old story. I’m just about ready to start writing the ending part. I’ll be watching and cheering! Good luck.

    Like

  7. […] Time To Get It Done (ekcarmel.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

Tell me what you REALLY think.

