Deep-Fried and Loving Jane Austen

My youngest was home today with a stomach bug. After spending the day dashing up and down stairs, cleaning and re-cleaning, and answering The Summons too many times to remember, by late afternoon my mind was fried.

Deep-fried.

So, for the first time in days, I flitted about on the web, finding all kinds of mind-numbing stuff:

Tantalizing clues to the season-ending episodes of my favorite tv shows like Castle. But they didn’t have anything on the series-ending episode of Stargate Universe! They’re really workin’ it too – I cried during this weeks’ episode. The End is coming…sniff.

The powers that be are going ahead with Three and a Half Men without Charlie Sheen. (Please, somebody, make him just go away!)

Then, I ran across a quiz. 

No, not “Who’s your favorite ‘Jersey Shore’ personality?” or  “Would you rather be a: Vampire, Half-Vampire, Werewolf, or Human?” or “Do you think Lady Gaga is a man or a woman?” (There are people out there with WAY too much time on their hands.)

It was a “Which Austen heroine are you?” quiz.

I love Jane Austen’s novels. Love the snarkiness underneath the proper British manners. Love her ridiculous comic characters.

I’ve also seen so many of the movie versions, I have favorites: Pride and Prejudice with Jennifer Ehle and Colin Firth (my all-time favorite), Persuasion with Amanda Root and Ciaran Hinds, Sense and Sensibility with Emma Thompson, and Emma with Kate Beckinsale. Hmm. I might have to dig out the DVDs.

Anyway. I HAD to take the survey.

I am Marianne Dashwood!

Take the Quiz here!

Damn!!!

I had been hoping for Elizabeth Bennett, of course. My brain must have been REALLY fried, because I’m about as far from the ultra-romantic, fool-for-love Marianne as one can get. Oh well. Here’s to hoping that tomorrow will be a better day.

Wait. Tomorrow’s the royal wedding! Yes, it WILL be a better day. (I’m such an Anglophile.)

Update: My youngest is feeling absolutely bouncy this morning, so off to school she goes.

The wedding of William and Kate was grand and lovely and all seemed to go off without any problems. (Well, ok, maybe the slight difficulty in getting the ring on, but, really, that was tiny!) I add my best wishes to those of the rest of the world for this new couple in their journey together. 

4 comments on “Deep-Fried and Loving Jane Austen

  1. Huh. I’m Elinor Dashwood. I suspected before I took the test but this confirms. My fav is Sense and Sensibility (the version with Emma Thompson) and then Emma (with Gweneth Paltrow). Funnily enough I’ve never read the books even though I have them. I need to. Thanks for the test. It was fun.

    Like

    • ekcarmel says:

      I’m glad you had fun with the quiz. I love it – you’re Elinor! She’s another favorite of mine as well. Some of Austen’s books are easier to read than others. For the life of me I can’t seem to get through Mansfield Park. I really enjoyed Sense and Sensibility, Pride and Prejudice, and Emma.

      Like

  2. Texanne says:

    Royal Wedding, huh? The last wedding I went to was my own. No, wait. I went to my daughter’s wedding, but they put duck tape over my mouth. No worries, by the time they got to the “or forever hold your peace” I had worked it off.

    I think it is sweet that you care about the wedding of these two kids who live so far away. Mostly, I hope your child is feeling better now. That bug is a real globe-trotter!

    Like

  3. ekcarmel says:

    LOL – Texanne, I love your humor!

    Yes, my youngest was feeling mostly herself by bedtime last night and is bright-eyed and bushy-tailed, and starving(!) this morning.

    I’m not as crazy this time around about the royal wedding as I was back when Charles and Diana were married. Too much has happened to the royal family and I’m less infatuated. But I think William and Kate are going about it much more sensibly and aware and with better chances of the marriage lasting. (At least this time there aren’t any mistresses lurking on the sidelines. Oops! Did I say that out loud?)

    Like

Tell me what you REALLY think.

