Back To Writing Again

Yes! I’m back to work on Ancient Magic again – and it feels faaaaantastic!

Previously, I had been writing and writing, getting some good scenes and some  really awful ones, too, but writing quite a bit by the seat of my pants. I didn’t have a definite starting point. I figured that would work itself out later. Except it kept nagging at me that I didn’t know “The Beginning.” I ignored it and kept writing. Forcing myself sometimes and producing a lot of garbage, I think.

Now, after a break of three months (I didn’t realize it had been so long!), I wrote that first scene. 

Correction, I NAILED it!

I introduced the protagonist and one of the major antagonists. I introduced the world, the magic system, and the major conflict. I also foreshadowed a possible ending to the series (if it works out that way).

I feel like I’m finally getting somewhere.

And it’s about damn time.

5 comments on “Back To Writing Again

  1. Yay! I always love those “NAILED it!” moments – when the story is moving forward and the pieces fall into place. Keep up the writing.

    Like

  2. That’s so cool. Congrats on a job well done. Write, write, write!

    Like

  3. ekcarmel says:

    Thank you both!

    Update: The euphoria of yesterday turned into the “Ok, now what?” feeling of this morning. Ha! Yes, I’m definitely BACK on the writing rollercoaster!

    Like

  4. Diane says:

    Yes, I love it when the story falls into place, whether start, middle or ending. Well done!
    I think that feeling is why I write. 🙂

    Like

Tell me what you REALLY think.

