And Away It Goes…

Time, that is.

No, I haven’t fallen off the face of the earth. Still just getting rid of the remnants of my illness. Trying to catch up. And write.

Unfortunately, in the middle of it, Holly Lisle posted her bonus goodies for a writing course I took a while back. I really can’t turn down “the shiny” (as my husband labelled that siren call of something new) when it comes to writing courses from Holly. And this one is totally cool – How to Write a Series.

Oh, yeah. I’m there.

Actually, with the first lesson she saved me a huge amount of work and automatic rejection with my current novel if I kept it the way I planned. Everywhere one turns in the publishing industry, particularly the fantasy genre, one finds series upon series. I had planned for it myself, to a degree. I decided to leave my novel open-ended, almost a cliff-hanger. I know that endings frequently change by the time you write to that point and really didn’t worry about it. It was something I was going to think about when I got to it, later. 

Holly’s course is a wake-up call to the fact I better think about it, and plan for it, now. She pointed out that agents and editors won’t even look at the first book in a series written by an unpublished writer. Who knew? Though it does seem obvious, once I thought about it. Who would waste their time on an untried novelist with a three – or five – book series?

Holly’s solution is so simple and obvious and she has all kinds of interesting and insightful ideas to tie everything together. As usual, she goes crazy in-depth with this and it is a writing course in itself, not just a bonus goody. It’s refreshing to see someone who goes that extra mile for her customers. Someone with personal and professional integrity.

Where does all that leave me today?

With a better-planned first novel. With solid ideas for a series, foreshadowed in that first novel. With a boost to my motivation to keep writing.

And watching time race ahead of me again.

But it’s still a GOOD day.

(If you’re interested in learning more about How tWrite a Series, click here.)

10 comments on “And Away It Goes…

  1. Texanne says:

    Glad you’re feeling better–and extra glad that the How to Write a Series course is helping you with your career. :)TX

    Like

  2. Diane says:

    Glad you are feeling better.
    I love HTWAS. I accidently followed Holly’s steps with my already published ebooks and, by doing the worksheets, I have the makings of another two series. I anxiously wait for the next lessons each week, while telling myself to stop looking at the site and write the current draft. Fun! New toy. 🙂

    Like

  3. Alanna Klapp says:

    Hi EK, I’m glad to hear you’re feeling better. This writing course sounds wonderful. Best of luck to you with your series!!

    Also, I left a blog award for you here: http://alannaklapp.blogspot.com/2011/02/chipper-writers-first-award.html

    Happy Writing! 🙂

    Like

  4. Tammy McLeod says:

    I think How to Write a Series sounds amazing! Glad you’re healthy enough to do it.

    Like

  5. Looking forward to taking the new ‘shiny’ myself. From what everyone’s said it’s an excellent course. It’s truly tough when an illness just lingers and lingers. Take care of yourself and hang in there. Eventually it’ll move on.

    Like

    • ekcarmel says:

      Thanks, Angela. It’s just that never-ending (or so it seems) lingering before it moves on that gets me. I’m mostly over it now and my youngest seems to be on the mend now too. So – woopee!!! *confetti drops*

      I’m now in the middle of the 2nd week of How to Write a Series, and it’s so, so helpful!

      Like

Tell me what you REALLY think.

