Best Advice for Creating an Online Presence

If you’ve read this blog for long, you know how much I admire the author Holly Lisle and her amazing ability to teach writing. 

Now, Holly’s put up a new post on her writing diary, A Pocket Full of Words, about how to create an online presence. This isn’t just for writers, however. It’s excellent advice for anyone who wants to bring in quality readership and discourage those who like to start flame wars. 

I highly, HIGHLY, recommend reading this if you have a website or blog or are thinking of creating one. You can find her post HERE .

Then, come back and let me know what you think.

4 comments on “Best Advice for Creating an Online Presence

  1. I caught Holly’s post yesterday when she sent out a message through the mailing list. It is a great one and, like you mentioned, applicable to anyone with a web site or blog who doesn’t want just anyone as part of their community. I use many of her suggestions [with my clients] so I was really happy to see her post on the topic because she has such a far reach. Your readers should go to her blog NOW if they haven’t before, a wealth of information awaits them.

    On a more personal note, I hope you and your family are well and ready for the holidays. (My daughter gives me the Christmas countdown at least twice a day LOL.) Take care!

    Like

  2. ekcarmel says:

    Hi, Leah – and a huge “Merry Christmas!” to you and your daughter! I don’t know how I got so lucky that I’ve only heard the Christmas countdown once so far, but I’m sure as it gets closer, my little one will repeat it frequently as well. The older one is being Scrooge this year.

    Holly’s post was one of those “Duh!” moments for me. In makes such sense. Here I was reading in so many magazines and writing blogs about what a blog should have and should do and thinking it was all NOT me. Apparently, I’ve been instinctively moving in the right direction after all.

    Like

  3. Exactly! “They” are really good at distracting people with shiny new objects and oodles and oodles of “should do’s” and “must-haves” that most people forget themselves and turn into robots churning out garbage.

    On the Scrooge front, it’s probably teenage temporary insanity – at least that’s how I’m referring to the behavior I experience with my daughter now that she’s a young woman.

    Everyone always ragged on me with “Oh just wait for the teen years!” and I would shrug it off. But there are days when I’m certain I live with Dr. Jekyll and Mrs. Hyde LOL. Needless to say I repeat “This too shall pass,” a lot!

    Like

  4. ekcarmel says:

    LMAO!! Yes, Jekyll and Hyde live at my house too! We’ve found that laughter and silliness sometimes work and the world lightens up for a while. Ah, those are good days.

    Like

Tell me what you REALLY think.

