Success!

I’ve managed to add a few more words to my count – wooooohoooo!

Lately, I’ve spent time reworking my characters and doing a bit more worldbuilding. Which has given me a boost, of course. But getting those lovely words down on a stark white computer page feels much more productive.  

I didn’t have the scene worked out ahead of time, but I had an image and a feeling of being inside my character, seeing with her eyes. I guess my Muse struck. It was true “seat of your pants” stuff, something I never thought myself capable of before, but I’m trying to not be so shocked when it hits me now.

Anyway, after I wrote part of the scene, I let it simmer for a bit (because, honestly, it didn’t go anywhere) and looked at it with my more analytical Me. I figured out a way to incorporate it into what I already had and came up with a scene sentence to put on an index card. I still need to finish the scene, but it opened up some possibilities I hadn’t thought of before.

Some of what I’ve written previously may need to be cut or reworked, but right now I’m going on from here and not tinkering. Even though it’s tempting. MUST NOT REVISE BEFORE IT’S TIME!

With Thanksgiving coming up, I’ll be busy the next few days with shopping and cooking – and eating! Mmm-mmm. Hopefully, I’ll be able to snatch a few moments of writing time.

6 comments on “Success!

  1. Texanne says:

    Isn’t it lovely to stand in your character’s shoes and see through her eyes? You have found a fun and productive process. Huzzah! 🙂

    Like

  2. Being a pantster is something of a rollercoaster ride, isn’t it? What a rush and very exciting. Sometimes I can’t wait to see what comes next. I just read that and thought shouldn’t I know? But not always and that’s half the fun.

    Like

  3. Being a pantster is something of a rollercoaster ride, isn’t it? I like a bit of structure but when something unexpected comes up, what a rush! Sometimes I can’t wait to see what comes next. I just read over what I wrote and thought shouldn’t I know? But not always and that’s half the fun.

    Like

  4. ekcarmel says:

    Seeing through my character’s eyes is something I’ve managed to do only a couple times. Usually, I’m just hovering somewhere near. In fact, I usually see the scene as if I was watching a movie. Apparently, being in the character is something that needs to be practiced. Next, I’m going to work on feeling the actual emotions.

    Never in my wildest dreams did I ever think I’d have pantser tendencies – rollercoaster is right, Angela! I’m trying to loosen up and let it just flow. Again, it’s practice. Exercising those muscles.

    Like

  5. Diane says:

    Yes, watching a movie is what I do, but once I get the scene, I walk onto the set as the POV char. I participate in the action (in my mind) and write, participate some more, and write. Fun!

    Like

Tell me what you REALLY think.

