Slogging Through

It’s amazing how easy it is to get derailed. I couldn’t write for a few days because of my daughter’s birthday sleepover and then the family party. I did write out three new scene cards, but doing the actual writing – not so much.  Trying to get back to where I was has been like wrestling my cat to put drops in his ears: exhausting and less accomplished than expected.

A Better Writing Day

I write a couple of paragraphs and get stuck. I know what I want to have happen, but the words just won’t come. The scene idea is solid. I have characters, setting, conflict and twist. I do sit down every morning and get something on paper or computer, just not much. And I suspect it’s mostly crap.

But I also know my Muse and I are distracted by other things going on in my life. So be it. As long as I get something written.

At the moment, I’m just slogging through. 

Hopefully, I’ll get hit by lightening. The writing kind.

11 comments on “Slogging Through

  1. Diane says:

    The 10 minute timer works for me, even if I spend the 10 minutes with my eyes shut, imaging the scene. Then I reset the timer and start typing. Hope you find what works for you. 🙂

    Like

  2. Some scenes tend to think they are a black hole. They suck you in and keep stretching you thin. The daylight disappears and you wonder if you will ever climb back out beyond the rim. When I find myself in one of these scenes I set it to the side.

    Did you try moving to the next scene? Sometimes a little distance will help you realize why you are stuck. Often times it is my subconcious telling me the scene itself is in some way flawed.

    Like

  3. ekcarmel says:

    Diane – tried the 10 min. timer and I kept getting garbage. I realized finally it was because:

    Darksculptures – you nailed it! I got to a point where I realized that my worldbuilding wouldn’t support the premise of the scene. Arrggghhh! All that time wasted!

    Well, I have to admit, I’m distracted. It’s not surprising I wrote myself into a corner. I’m decorating in earnest for our Halloween party. I’ll put photos up eventually so you can see what a Halloween freak I am.

    Like

  4. Tammy McLeod says:

    Funny analogy about the cat. Mine needs drops in her ears right now also so that really resonated with me. My best practice times are when I challenge myself to do 300 words a day.

    Like

    • ekcarmel says:

      Cats are so like people and yet are so alien. I can usually find a cat analogy for anything.

      Challenges are good, if you play fair with yourself – and kudos to you that you do that! Some days I’m not so good at it.

      Like

  5. uninvoked says:

    Hey EK Carmel, it’s A.M. Kuska on my noveling blog. I decided to start a new project, and I was wondering if I could have your help on it. I want to start a directory specifically for writer’s blogs, and I’d like yours to be one of the first. (I’m starting with just ten.)

    I’d like to do a review of the blog, maybe an interview with the owner (you!) so it’s not just a directory, and I’d like to start with you cause I read your blog.

    If you’re interested, please drop me a line at sskid2000 AT hotmail DOT com.

    Thanks!

    Like

  6. Better to find out now where the problem is but it’s still tough when you have to redo the parts you’ve spent so much time on.
    I’m looking forward to the Halloween pictures. There’s a guy down the road who takes part of September and the all of October to put up his decorations before finally completing his halloween story on the 31st. I look forward to it every year.

    Like

    • ekcarmel says:

      Yes, I’d much rather find the problem now. I don’t really have a problem with getting rid of stuff if it’s not working. I don’t like wasting my time, so I try to consider it *learning* time, instead.

      Like

  7. Alanna Klapp says:

    Hi E.K., good luck with your writing! Some days are hard, and the writing just won’t come no matter what you do. I also think sometimes life has to supersede writing. I enjoyed reading everyone’s suggestions; they are good ones. Good luck, and I have no doubt that you will pull through. Looking forward to the Halloween pics, too! 🙂

    Like

Tell me what you REALLY think.

