What a Week

Whew!  I was afraid it was going to be a no-words-accomplished week, but I managed to get an excellent scene mostly worked through this morning.  

I’ve had a maddening week of dental work, appliances breaking down, the children and their dramas interrupting everything, and planning for upcoming back-to-school, birthdays, and holidays.  I thought about characters and plot at quiet moments, but last night I was despairing I would get any actual words written. Then, this morning, a  scene came to life when I tweaked my MC’s attitude.  Now she seems more real to me than before! 

It was only about 500 words, but what an impact they made.  To the story and to me.

The Muse is incomprehensible and marvelous.  (Two lines from The Princess Bride just popped into my brain. “It’s inconceivable!”  “I do not think it means what you think it means.”  Thanks, Muse…I think.)

10 comments on “What a Week

  1. Texanne says:

    My commiserations on your back-to-school drama. Same here.

    But you got a scene, and a new understanding of your main character–Huzzah!

    Like

  2. ekcarmel says:

    Back-to-school isn’t what it used to be when I was a kid, that’s for sure!

    Like

  3. Tammy McLeod says:

    Hurray for the muse. I’m actually enjoying that we are falling back into a routine of being back in school.

    Like

  4. ekcarmel says:

    I like the routine too. It’s nice to have free time and go on trips, etc., but it’s nice to get back into that school year routine, too.

    I love my children, but I don’t like the fact that no matter how many activities I sign them up for and no matter how many friends they have to play with, they still manage to pick fights with each other over everything and nothing at all or do or say something bad enough for a grounding. At least they finally stopped saying, “I’m bored…” because I kept finding chores for them to do!

    Like

  5. My boy went back to school 3 weeks ago and I’ve already settled into my groove.

    Summer is great and I love spending time with the family, but I always end up in some kind of dysfunctional writer’s existentialism when I don’t have a routine writing schedule. Then that doubt monster takes hold and it seems like everything I write during those months amounts to a hill of horse droppings.

    Like

    • ekcarmel says:

      Exactly! I had a writing schedule all figured out (because I knew what it was going to be like) and it worked for quite a while, but this last 3 weeks it’s mostly gone out the window. I’ve gotten a couple good nuggets, but I am longing for uninterrupted writing time.

      Like

  6. Diane says:

    Yes, it is the little things that keep the excitement alive while writing. I even blogged of my excitement at finding muse bombs.

    Like

  7. amkuska says:

    I have to admit–It’s a relief hearing you can get through a schedule like that and still write.

    Like

    • ekcarmel says:

      Well, this is the first summer I actually had a writing schedule at all. It’s taken me a long time to get comfortable with writing and get my family used to the idea. The kids still have a problem with a closed door and a sign that reads, “Mom Writing!” but it’s gettin’ there!

      Like

Tell me what you REALLY think.

