Even Published Writers Have Problems

It makes me feel a little less intimidated by the whole writing process to hear that writing isn’t a piece of cake to published writers, either.

Recently, Kate Elliot explained how her typical first draft progresses here .

David B. Coe at Magical Words has a post here about the challenges he’s facing in starting the second novel in his fourth series.

There was a lively discussion at Magical Words on a post by Diana Pharaoh Francis regarding pitfalls of worldbuilding here.

Do you have any links to add?  I find it great inspiration on those days when a little motivation goes a long way!

6 comments on “Even Published Writers Have Problems

  1. Kerryn says:

    I literally *just* read this which tells the long years of revision that are going into one book due to hit the shelves in December. It began as a NaNoWriMo novel in 2007.

    This does not assuage my fear of the black hole of revision…

    Like

    • ekcarmel says:

      “Ohmyword!” Yeah. That.

      Hey, this was supposed to be about *established* writers’ problems.

      Well, you know it’s kind of like a car crash: you can’t look away. We unpubbed writers can’t help but look at what other brandy-new published writers have to go through. I can’t wait for the torture to start!

      Really 😉

      Like

  2. Eek! Editing is the thing I try to postpone as often as possible. I know it is unavoidable and I’ve read plenty of authors sites that say it is a long and arduous process, but somehow that doesn’t inspire me to buckle down and do it with the consistency it deserves. Although, secretly I admit that I grow a rather large smirk when I hear of others who also try to avoid editing whenever possible.

    PS. I rerouted your post alerts to my email. For some reason my feeds are being selective and I’ve been missing your posts even though you are clearly on the list. I tried to renew my subscription, but I think I’ll keep the email alert just in case. See what happens when you take a few days off.

    Like

    • ekcarmel says:

      Apparently, I’m alone in this. Most writers I’ve heard about hate editing, but I like it. Believe it or not, I do. It’s that getting it down in the first place that seems to be giving me fits and starts. Of course, I’ve never edited an entire novel, either. I may change my mind later.

      Ha, all it takes is me turning my back for a minute and all hell breaks loose!

      Like

  3. Thanks for the links to Magical Words. It’s just what I was looking for to help me spiff up my grammar usage.

    Like

    • ekcarmel says:

      I really like the folks at Magical Words. They have wonderful advise for writers at all stages, with a focus on fantasy. I’m glad you found the link useful!

      Like

Tell me what you REALLY think.

