Beginning Again

I finished pre-planning for my new novel, Ancient Magic, and began writing.  Squeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!

*ahem*

Anyway, I began writing.  I usually start by handwriting in colored ink on legal pads.  Something about the color, the feel of pen on paper, the movement.  Whatever it is, it loosens me up.  So, I wrote a couple scenes.  Decided I needed to question my characters a bit more.  Got some interesting stuff and some pretty cliched stuff.  Played around a bit more and decided, that’s it, time to get it on the computer.

So, I dug out my ergonomic keyboard and hooked that baby up.  (Of course that was after an hour of loading the initial software, waiting for updated software downloads, wondering why it still didn’t work, and then realizing, “Oh yeah, there was that other doohicky thing I had to plug into the computer!”, searching for and finding said doohicky (receiver) in my junk room without knocking over any of the precarious piles of stuff, plugging it in, and SHAZAM! it was like magic.)  Gotta love technology.

I typed in what I had, while my Muse added a few things here and there, and then I kept on going with a new scene I didn’t handwrite first.  I tend to go back and forth like that.  It’s not exactly an efficient way of writing, but I can’t sit still at a computer for very long.  Right now, it works for me. 

You might have noticed the new progress meter to the right.  I like the idea of a visual of my writing progress.  Hopefully, it’ll also keep me on track. 

Here’s to new beginnings and progress – Salut!

11 comments on “Beginning Again

  1. Texanne says:

    This is wonderful! No finer feeling than beginning a new story–it’s like the first blush of young love, isn’t it? Huzzah!

    Like

    • ekcarmel says:

      Oh, yes – the soaring highs and the bottomless lows. I haven’t hit the lows yet (knocking on wood and crossing fingers). But this time around I’m not completely clueless about the process, so I’m already ahead of where I was last time. Right now, everything is looking good.

      Like

  2. amkuska says:

    I work the same way. I’m always trotting back and forth between notebook and computer.

    Like

  3. Diane says:

    I love progress meters. Changing it means small goals are reached and I can see the end getting closer, even if still a long way off. It is better than thinking I am in a black hole and am not sure how to climb out (reach THE END).
    This remindes me, I had better stop playing on the internet and update my meters.
    Enjoy your new project. 🙂

    Like

    • ekcarmel says:

      Absolutely! I’m all for anything that keeps us moving forward and not feeling as if the weight of that black hole is crushing us. Even if all we are doing is crawling forward. It’s progress.

      Yeah, the internet is both the best thing and the most evil thing, simultaneously! 😉

      Like

  4. Kerryn says:

    Hooray for writing! And for what is now 4,000 words.

    Like

  5. ekcarmel says:

    Thank you, thank you, thank you. Unfortunately, it hasn’t been past that mark all week! Gotta get myself unstuck. Gotta get some *time* to get myself unstuck.

    Like

  6. A toast: To new beginnings.

    Like

Tell me what you REALLY think.

