The Crazy Season – and a Beautiful Wedding

Oh, yes, summer is nearly upon us.  When parents say goodbye to those longer times of quiet while the children are at school.  (Or, for parents who work outside the home, make complicated care arrangements for during the day.) 

The past couple of years, I’ve let my writing slip to the side in order to take care of the more immediate crises that pop up with the kids on a daily basis.  This year, I’m working on a better plan so I can stick to a writing schedule.  Really.

Memorial Day, at least for me, marks the beginning of the crazy season.  This year, it really started off with a bang because my sister was married on Saturday. 

It was a hairy few days getting everything together, but it worked out well in the end and she looked gorgeous and she married a great guy and the family is so happy for her! 

My sister has a side business as a professional baker and created this beautiful display – as if she didn’t have enough to do on her wedding day! 

Congratulations, Mary Margaret and Scott!

 

Now, I’m knee deep in the midst of arranging plans for my daughters for vacation.  Got to keep them busy.  So camp, library programs, lessons of different sorts, and a possible babysitting job for my older daughter are whirling through my head right now.  But I also want to use as much of this time as possible for my writing – uninterrupted, quiet, thinking – time.  So much to do….

For those of you who have little darlings, how will you juggle your writing with having children home during the summer?

6 comments on “The Crazy Season – and a Beautiful Wedding

  1. Texanne says:

    Felicitations to your sister!

    Ah, the crazy season. You say you are working up a plan to support your writing. Good! I used to write a bit, and read a lot, while sitting on bleachers waiting for kids to tumble or twirl or knock each other over (gymnastics, dance, Kung Fu). Let’s hear it for low-tech: a sturdy spiral notebook and some smooth-writing pens.

    Have a wonderful summer, and keep writing!

    Like

    • ekcarmel says:

      Thank you. I would have loved to show more pictures, but this is too public a place for that.

      I have done SOME writing while waiting for the kids, but I end up talking with the other parents or said child wants to know “did you see me do –?!” and I hate missing something like that. I’m still working on my plan, though early mornings are probably going to be my main time. My hubby gets up at 5 to go to work and the kids will probably sleep until 8 or 9 (I hope), so that’s a good chunk.

      I have to agree with you on low-tech supplies. I do the bulk of my initial writing on legal pads, though they do end up looking pretty ratty after a while. And my many-colored pens. My muse and I just HAVE to have the color.

      You have a great summer yourself Texanne! 😉

      Like

  2. Diane says:

    Being the other side of the world, I am letting the garden go because it is getting too cold to be outside after 3:00pm each day. It gives me more time inside to write, revise, etc.
    I agree with low tech appliances, notebook, pens, drawing sheets, coloured pencils, etc. for planning. All are easily slipped into a library bag and carried to and from sports grounds, etc. but your 2 or more hours in the mornings sounds like enought time to write. I look forward to more chapters of your novel. 🙂

    Like

    • ekcarmel says:

      Hi Diane, you make me feel very – global – today. What a fantastic world we live in when we can “talk” to folks in a different hemisphere! Autumn is my favorite time of year, so I envy you a bit.

      Yes, I think working in the mornings (if the girls sleep in, that is) will be my best time for writing. I have one last full week here before my oldest is home, (except for some exams she needs to go back to take) so I’m trying to cram in as much time in as I can this week.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  3. Mary Margaret Ripley says:

    You are the best sister in the world! Thank you for all your help in making our day so special! Love you!!

    Like

    • ekcarmel says:

      You are so VERY welcome, Toots. But, honestly, the Big A did more than I. BTW thank you for the lovely card and home-baked bread – our favorite!

      Love you, too!

      Like

Tell me what you REALLY think.

