Spring is Back – Quick, Don’t Blink!

After the last snow storm that shut everything down only two weeks ago, we’ve had beautiful weather and the snow is quickly melting.  Right now, it’s 68 degrees!!! 

And my gardens are coming back to life again!  (Why do I have this incredible urge to sing a Disney song?)

Even though I’m sure we’ll probably get at least one more snowfall, I get so happy when my little guys start popping back up in the Spring. 

 

Here in western New York we’ll have warm days like today and then go back to 20s or 30s and it’ll go back and forth like that for a while.  I don’t particularly like Mother Nature’s whole “Here, have a warm, sunny day.” and then “Psych!!”  But, I guess I’ve gotten used to it. 

How about you?  What is Spring like where you are – or are you still under a foot of snow?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged .

6 comments on “Spring is Back – Quick, Don’t Blink!

  1. We had a gorgeous 62 degrees today in Ohio but I, too, am not expecting it to last. I walked around my flower beds today making a mental list of what needs to be done as soon as the last freeze is behind us. You know you have cabin fever when you get excited about pruning and laying new mulch. The biggest thing is, I can’t wait to plant trees and vegetables this year!

    Like

    • ekcarmel says:

      Ah yes, the gardening itch. I’m just feeling a tickle now, but it will hit me in full force around late April, early May.

      So, trees and veggies, huh? What kinds, if you don’t mind my asking? I think I’m just going to stick to tomatoes and herbs, and my perennials, of course. The rest of my family isn’t interested in helping and I’ve cut back these last few years. Plus, we have several really nice farm stands and markets around here, so I frequent those.

      Like

  2. We’re going to do potatoes, radishes and herbs just to see how green my thumb actually is. Then we’ll go to our local farm stands for the rest like usual. As for the trees, we want some privacy so I’m going to give Lombardy Poplars a go and my mom suggested Arborvitaes too.

    Like

    • ekcarmel says:

      Cool! My sister has grown potatoes and it’s worked well for her. Radishes are super easy and super quick. You can get two or maybe three batches grown in a season. I love herbs because I love to cook, so I usually grow parsley, basil, and chives. I’ve tried rosemary – which is more like a bush you can bring in the house. But I killed it. Or maybe that was one of our cats. Actually, I don’t keep many houseplants anymore for both of those reasons. I don’t know why, but I can grow things outdoors, but I’m not so good with the indoors plants. So I stopped trying.

      My parents have a few huge, old poplars around where they live. I love the sound of the leaves in the wind. Very soothing. I’ve considered a few Arborvitaes for our backyard privacy, too. We have the neighbors from hell – isn’t it funny how so many peole have neighbors from there as well!

      Anyway, I wish you a good growing season and lots of luck with your gardening adventures this year!

      Like

  3. Kerryn says:

    For the first time ever I’m having Spring over my birthday (April) and I am loving seeing the daffodils sprouting and promising bright, sunny, yellow flowers. I can see just how beautiful everything will become as the weeks go by. Happy gardening!

    Like

    • ekcarmel says:

      Thanks, Kerryn – and Happy (early) Birthday to you! It’s got to be fun discovering all these unexpected things because you’re living in a different part of the world. I hope your birthday is full of all kinds of Spring-y inspirations and joys!

      Like

Tell me what you REALLY think.

