Anticipating Halloween

Since I was young, I have loved Halloween.  It’s my favorite time of the year.  Living in northeastern U.S. there is a slight chill, the leaves are turning red, orange and yellow and there is a certain smell to the air, a combination I associate with the fallen leaves and the clear, cool air of the north.  And best of all – Halloween.  I’ve always loved the fun of getting scared and scaring others (the fun kind, not the grotesque, slasher-movie kind), dressing up in costumes (and, as a child, trick-or-treating) and decorating my house.  When my kids were little, I was too exhausted to get excited and when they got a little older, they were too scared of some of my decorations, so those stayed packed away. 

Starting a few years ago, I gradually brought out a few things and each year since, Halloween has gotten a little bigger here.  Last year, my husband got in on the fun and helped me make some props and get set up for the big night.  We had a blast.  Following are some pictures:

225

234

There was also a cemetery, but I didn’t get very good pictures of that.  This year, we are adding to the whole tableau and my children are even getting in on the fun (my babies!!!).  And I will get better pictures.  Check back after Halloween.

Tell me what you REALLY think.

